Recently many people can work from home using modern technology. Some think this only benefits the workers, not the employers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, there has been a growing trend towards the shift in the type people work, as evidenced by the increase in the number of employees working from home. Though some claim that this tendency is advantageous for the laborers exclusively, I firmly believe that the benefit for the employers is even more pronounced.

Granted, workers derive a host of upsides from remote working. Firstly, distance working is time-saving. Since employees are less reliant on commuting, they can spend more time doing personal tasks, such as taking care of their children or exercising. Secondly, working remotely acts as a deterrent to infectious diseases, especially respiratory ones. For instance, working from home during the Covid-19 pandemic has proved the effectiveness of distance working in preventing the spread of this epidemic.

Nevertheless, I totally hold that the advantages of this trend to employers are highly significant. Foremost is the remarkable cost reduction. In fact, distance working enables companies to reduce business expenses on rental fees, electricity bills, and cleaning fees as their employees are required to commute to the office on important occasions exclusively. Furthermore, the bosses can obtain more profit when the workers work remotely. A research conducted in the SARS-CoV-2 has pointed out that this trend is conducive to businesses, particularly giant corporations like Microsoft, as it boosts labor productivity. Therefore, remote working is of great benefit to the state of employers’ finances.

In conclusion, working from home bestows enormous benefits for not only the laborers but also the employers. Given this topic, I believe that the workers should be motivated to work remotely by virtue of their substantial contribution to the development of companies.