Recently some people can work from home using modern technology. Some think this only benefits the workers, but not the employers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the help of today’s modern advancements, an increasing number of people work from home. Some believe this is only beneficial to the employee, but not the employers. Despite a few possible drawbacks, in my opinion, this work set up offers more benefits on both parties in various aspects.

Working from home has been increasingly popular these days as many individuals prefer to work in the comfort of their homes, especially if given the chance to do so. This is made possible with the use of modern technologies like mobile phones, laptops and personal computers. For instance, an entrepreneur can work from home and sell his products online with the use of his mobile phone or camera. All transactions can be made online including shipping arrangements and payment methods, which can be of great convenience to both the seller and the buyers. Working from home also allows individuals to spend more quality time with their family and loved ones, therefore creating stronger emotional and social ties.

Home based jobs are also beneficial to employers as this allows them to save expenses on building offices, renting shops, and paying additional labor. They can also manage their businesses online by reading different reviews of consumers with regards to their products or services, giving them insights on how to improve quality.

On the other hand, a few disadvantages can still be noted if one does work from home. Firstly, the employee’s working environment may not always be conducive in helping deliver quality performance. Homes which are not well lit or well ventilated can greatly affect one’s concentration, therefore affecting product and service quality. Secondly, distractions like the need to babysit children or perform household chores may also arise, therefore affecting the worker’s time and schedule leading to delays and missed deadlines. Lastly, people working from home also have the tendency to be secluded from other people, therefore leading to isolation and social conflicts as they would not have the opportunity to mingle and expand their social circles similar to those working in traditional office spaces.

In conclusion, a few drawbacks of working from home are eclipsed by the numerous benefits an employee and employer can gain in terms of management, family time and finances.