Reserch suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison commit crime when set free. What are the reasons? What can done to solve the problem?

It is true that a significant number of criminals re-commit crimes after they are released into prison. Reasons for this vary, but this issue can be handled by adopting possible solutions, as will now be discussed.

There are several reasons why many lawbreakers continue to commit crimes when they are set free. The first reason is discrimitation against offenders after they are released from prison. Few employers are enthusiastic about hiring felons, which leads criminals to be unable to find a job to support themselves. These wrongdoers find that it is difficult to reintegrate into society. When no opportunity presents themselve, they may turn to a life of crime. The second reason is that they tend to are influenced by others in jail. Prison is a violent place whose purpose is to punish criminals including dangerous criminals. This environment may have an impact on lawbreakers seriously. Thus, offenders tend to be imminent the behavior of another or they form a network to commit crimes in the future.

However, a range of available options can be taken to tackle the problem. The first solution is to provide education for offenders in prison. Criminals should be given a chance to rehabilitate and find a job. They must show that they are caple of leading a positive lifestyle before being released into society. For example, some universities in the USA and UK offer degree programs to enable offenders to gain the qualification. Another solution is to segregate the most dangerous criminals from others to prevent intimidation and bullying in prison. Thorough psychological and psychiatric tests should be conducted to determine whether they become repeat offenders upon entering society.

In conclusion, the fact that the re-committing crime rate has increased is attributable to several factors. However, this can be resolved by taking the above suggestions.