The restoration of old buildings in major cities in the world costs numerous government expenditures. This money should be used for new housing and road development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that restoring ancient buildings in urban areas is expensive and wasteful; therefore, the government should reallocate the national budget to constructing brand-new houses. From my perspective, I strongly oppose this viewpoint due to the following explanations.

The restoration and maintenance of architectural buildings whose age lasts for decades is significantly valuable to sustainable economic growth as they maintain various cultural values. Houses and apartment blocks built in the past often feature numerous cultural values and architectural diversities of the contemporary world, which can become famous tourist attractions if the refurbishment process is carried out under strict supervision and consultation of professional and skilful architects. Therefore, should the government allocate expenditures to redecorating the existing buildings, the tourism industry can boom and gain valuable profits. For instance, Vietnam has distributed its national budget to annual restoration projects of Hoi An ancient city, which has witnessed a steady rise in the number of international tourists, contributing to the exponential growth of the economy in the region. As a result, allocating the national budget to old buildings is necessary and beneficial to the economy.

Additionally, restoring old buildings is more economical than constructing new roads and houses. As the construction of new blocks and roads requires tons of iron, cement, and other construction materials whose prices are drastically erratic and expensive, some less affluent countries whose economies are sluggish and fragile may have to borrow foreign capital, putting their national budgets under significant financial pressure. Meanwhile, the restoration and maintenance of old buildings is more affordable since it requires fewer construction materials and consumes less time than the construction of new buildings, which helps the government steer clear of financial waste triggered by price violations of construction materials.

In conclusion, while some contend that restoring old buildings is a financial waste due to its limited applications in the current world, I strongly disagree with this school of thought. This is because the architectural diversity of old buildings can contribute to the boom of cultural tourism if the refurbishment process is commenced appropriately and in line with its existing unique cultural values.