The rise of social media has led to a decrease in face-to-face interaction. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

In this day and age, getting access to social media becomes popular with people worldwide, causing less direct interaction. Despite manifold perks, this trend can reduce face-to-face communication and creat an insecure networking environment.

That this change can make a contribution to preventing the spread of diseases is one of the benefits for society. More specifically, meeting in person can easily creat favorable conditions for infectious diseases to form community transfer. For instance, during the period of the Covid-19 outbreak, using Facebook or Instagram as well as curbing interaction serves as a fruitful method to diminish the strain of the disease. Another advantage is that the number of accidents can be lowered. In other words, if people were at home and surfed the internet, there would be fewer incidents due to the low vehicle and commuters rate. Thus, this can lessen the speed of the deterioration in the infrastructure, lightening the air pollution in the environment.

However, that people cannot talk directly is considered as a weakness of this shift. In fact, less verbal communication can form a barrier among people and make them have a sense of self-deprecation in meeting in reality. For example, after a long time of depending on social media to chat with friends or strangers, people tend to have a feeling of shyness when communicating directly. Besides, an encumbrance is that numerous users logging in platforms of social media can make the network insecure. The fact of the matter is that administrators cannot control a lot people accessing the network per day and immediately handle it if a problem arises. Hence, it can threaten the secure of people and bad guys can take a chance to infiltrate and steal personal information such as bank accounts,...

To conclude, using social media more instead of face-to-face communication can bring plenty of conveniences, nevertheless, its negative consequences should not be overlooked.