Some feel that punishment should focus more on rehabilitation instead of long prison term. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have differenting views with regard to the question whether punishment should put more emphasis on rehabilitation without long prison term.From my perspective, long prison is the effective way for criminals to be guilty about all the things done.

There are two primary reasons why they think that long prison should be restricted. First , they lack the awareness of the dangerous extent of crime these days. In other words , they claim that rehabilitation can assist criminals to change their thoughts and repent about their cruelty.Thus, person who commit an offence can quickly intergrate into the society without putting in jail.Furthermore, the time for rehabilitation can be shortened compared to the other , so that can save the government a lot of time and money.There is no good reason to oppose such a punishment.

On the one hand, long prison term should not be replaced by rehabilitation. This is simply because the long period of sentence in prison could effectively reduce crime .As a result there will not be too much offenders in the future, that can tackle one of the social issues. Additionally, long prison time could give prisoners a hand to take advantage of the time to rebuild eligible skills . Therefore, they not only can have experiences but also many opportunities to get some jobs so as to earn a living.

In summary , although it is argued by some that rehabilitation is the best punishment to heal the mental injury of criminals,I do maintain that long prison term can hinder people from committing a crime because of opportunities to find jobs easily and a decrease in the crime rate .