Road transport is taking over rail services. Discuss the positive and negative effects of this development. Is this situation true for your country?

Recent cutting-edge technology has paved the way of travel for humankind. One of such is the road transmission slowly taking over the other modes of commuting like rail. This occurrence brings both constructive and adverse impacts to the society.

Comparing both the rail and road transport indicate some reasons for the current rise in number of vehicles on roadways. The preponderant one is relative cost of road transport is reasonable for travelling short and long distance. For instance, vehicles like car, trucks often cost less when travelling short distance while the same is not applicable in case of trains. Another benefit is that perishable goods are much easier to carry and not everything needs to be sent all at once. To instantiate, rails often carry huge freight at once, but it is possible to send goods in different quantities rather than waiting for more goods to be produced to send them all together.

There is also the difference in the flexibility which makes people prefer road transport. A good example of this is the railway industry which fix the timings of departure of different trains, although, in transmission modes like trucks, Lorries and etcetera there are no such restrictions. Lastly, the affordability of means of commuting also plays a pivotal role in the preference of transport. To exemplify, in road transmission, people have the choice to either buy their own private transport or use the public one, whereas, no such option is available in railway as it comes directly under government control.

To conclude, both transports have their own merits and demerits. Although, like many other countries, the road transmission is burgeoning as more and more people are able to afford private transport. Nevertheless, there are many people who still use rail transport for long distance travels and transports.