School children are becoming far too dependent on computers. This is having an alarming effect on reading and writing skills. Teachers need to avoid using computers in classroom at all costs and go back to teaching study skills. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent few decades, science and technology has advanced with leaps and bounds. Meanwhile, computers managed to make their vital place in all the spheres of human life. This has heavily impacted every nook and corner of world. The usage of computers nowadays starts with cradle to the grave. So it is suggested that teachers should avoid using computers in the classroom ambiance and concentrate more in the traditional reading and writing skills with traditional practices. This essay accedes with the notion and provides some empirical reasons for this disagreement.

To begin with, usage of the computers in the early stage of life has numerous detrimental consequences. First of all, the early usage of technical gadgets leads to improper development of mental abilities of an individual. To enumerate, when children start reading books on computers and on smart phones their reading abilities diminish. For example, according to a recent survey nowadays in developed countries children can read the books on portable devices such as I-pads and other smart phones and consequently have negative impacts on the overall development of children.

Further, using advanced technical equipments have harmful impact on the writing skills of children as well. Firstly, by using such intelligent devices children suffer in writing skills. In other words, with the usage of the computers in the classroom children are discouraged to use pencils and pens and thereby writing skills do not develop. Moreover, by following such kind of practices there is no mental exercise for children resulting improper brain functioning in children. For instance, many developed countries are already suffering from mental diseases owing to the rampant use of such technical devices.

In the light of these facts one can conclude that, in order to improve mental and intellectual growth of children technical devices such as computers and smart phones should be avoided by educators.