School should not force children to learn a foreign language. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are arguments over whether school should make studying a second language compulsory to students or not. Although I believe that children should be free of choosing their own learning preferences, I also acknowledge that a required curriculum regarding foreign language has its own benefits.

On the one hand, students should not be forced to learn non-native languages for many reasons. Firstly, not all children are interested in foreign languages. With added responsibilities of studying a new subject, students may lose their motivation or confidence to learn effectively, ultimately leading to undesired overall academic performance. Secondly, learning a new language is not usually a top priority at school. As children are expected to spend more time on more important subjects like Math, Physics or Literature, school should also let children develop their nature talents instead of rather than compelling them to study languages.

On the other hand, acquiring a second language can certainly be useful in term of socialization and future employment. Through learning foreign languages, students can obtain more knowledge in their areas of interest, accessing to more diverse sources of knowledge. They can also gradually forming new relationships with people who share the same hobbies with them around the world. Besides, as the world is experiencing unprecedented level of globalization, cross-cultural communication is crucial to get a well-paid job and further promotion prospects. Employers will definitely look for applicants who are not only competent not only at specialized knowledge and exclusive skills but also at the flexibility of working with multi-national coworkers.

In conclusion, despite the aforementioned benefits of studying non-native languages, I believe that it is not essential to force children to study what they are not interest in.