In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers.

Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that with the increasing popularity of technological developments and their implementations, autonomous vehicles will certainly replace conventional means of transport like cars, buses and trucks. Despite some obvious drawbacks to this trend, I would argue that these are outweighed by the benefits.

On the one hand, there are two major disadvantages when driverless vehicles become prevalent in people's lives. Firstly, people who travel by autonomous vehicles are more prone to hacking and possible unexpected glitch in the algorithms. For example, hackers can collect personal information of passengers or create traffic chaos by simply cracking into the system and taking control of a few vehicles on the road. Secondly, if people become accustomed to not driving, they will gradually lose their proficiency and experience regarding dealing with the flow of traffic and sudden change on the road. Computers are not yet capable of understanding hand signals from pedestrians or avoiding potholes on the streets, therefore drivers need to be active under certain circumstances to avert from potential accidents.

On the other hand, despite the aforementioned drawbacks, I believe that other advantages are more beneficial. One reason for this view is that driverless vehicles will allow people to allocate their time to other responsibilities while driving. For example, people can communicate with their friends and coworkers, enjoy their hobbies or simply get some rest. Another reason is that autonomous vehicles will allow disabled people, older citizens or children to overcome their physical difficulties and experience the freedom of car travel by themselves. Finally, commute times will be drastically reduced as there will be better cooperation between vehicles controlled by computers to avoid bottlenecks and traffic congestion.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the advantages of driverless vehicles in the future will outweigh the drawbacks.