School should not force children learn a foreign language.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is suggested that educational institutions should allow schoolers to forgo foreign language classes. In my opinion, it is a reasonable decision to make language training a non-compulsory course, and learners should be entitled to decide themselves whether or not they wish to master the languages.

It may be easily understood that some formal educational institutions classify learning a foreign language as a mandatory subject just because it could benefit students. Rapid globalization along with cultural exchange helps people stay connected regardless of their nationalities or religions. So it is clearly seen that a person would have more favor when he or she is capable of speaking another language in a fluent manner, especially if that person is in the fields of business and entertainment. Knowing that, schools at all levels emphasize solely on the importance of the second language so as to provide the learners with better opportunities as they embark on career paths later.

The stress on foreign languages may sound sensible to some extent, but its stress should not be the mainstream category in the schooling guideline. Firstly, it is a waste of students’ time should they be compelled to learn the second language. Usually they have to memorize and get accustomed to plenty of language materials such as lexis, syntax and vocab enunciation, which might sometimes be complicated towards young learners. For example, most international elementary schools teach students every single subject in English, including literature, instead of giving instructions on how to pronounce and use their mother tongue correctly, which culminates in the majority of junior learners’ incompetence in the first language. The result of such time and effort burning activity might not be as good as the school panel anticipates, and in fact, in many schools, it produces a dismal failure. Secondly, time and effort invested in the foreign language could result in students’ shortage of concentration on other important subjects that would be an effective gear for their future specialized areas at university and in the labor market. After all, foreign languages are exclusively an aid enabling practitioners to handle more effectively in communication and negotiation at work; an adequate comprehension of more languages would suffice for message conveyance to others. It is the truth that the key to success in a profession requires more than just acquiring a proficient level of multiple languages, so a strong focus on these subjects would downplay the importance of other disciplines which actually contribute to their job accomplishment.

In summary, children should have the permission to select their language classes. This is because they need to spend time mastering the first language, and there are more major subjects to be mainly learned.