In the past, people stored knowledge in books. Nowadays people store knowledge on the Internet.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the old days, knowledge is written in books; however, with the development of technology nowadays, it is kept on the Internet. I believe the drawbacks would predominate.

On the other hand, some people say that there are many benefits for information to be stored online. The first reason is that this way of data storage is convenient. Within only a single mouse click, thousands of results are presented in the searching list, facilitating users’ process of knowledge discovery. For example, if a learner would like to explore historical contents as regards their national battles, they can see a lot of virtual information within some seconds. The final reason is that the storage of online database can be space-saving. Unlike conventional books, a compact technological device, such as a laptop, is able to store a tremendous amount of information. The laptop, also, can be put on a normal table, which perfectly fits the learning and working adults these days.

On the other hand, others and I believe that online storage of information has more drawbacks. The very first and foremost reason is that books are reliable. It means that they are frequently composed by high-profile experts and authors, and then verified before publication, thus gaining readers’ credence. In contrast, the information on the Internet can possibly be inaccurate, which seriously affects users’ belief. The second reason is that there are plenty of distractions associated with online information. When an article of content is searched throughout webpages, common diversions, for example, social media, are likely to capture the users’ interest. This baffles productivity or study as a result. The books, in contrast, can help readers stay more concentrated. The final reason is that virtual storage requires an electrical device. It is problematic when there are sudden shutdowns or no electricity outlets. Differently, the printed materials do not need electric power, which is far easier for general people to use.

In conclusion, there are both advantages and disadvantages in this matter, but I believe the drawbacks would predominate the other.