For Schoolchildren, Their Teachers Have More Influence On Their Intelligence And Social Development Than Their Parents. To What Extent Do You Agree Or Disagree?

Some people advocate that teachers can help students to improve their intelligence and social development better than parents. I strongly agree with this idea, since school students usually spend more time with their teachers rather than their parents and teachers also have adequate skills to deal with children, especially those in age of rebellion.

Nowadays, it cannot be denied that parents do not have much time with their children. Almost all of schools are day schools, as such, students regularly spend about 10 hours at schools with their teachers and only have a couple of hours for family. Let’s take me as an example; when I was 10 years old, almost all days except weekends, I was only at home in the evening. My family did not have much time to talk to each other because my parents were too busy with their deadlines and I always had tons of homework to be done before sleeping. In contrast, when I was at school, all teachers were likely to surround me all the time. They taught me how to solve hard exercises, organized games for students like us to cooperate and develop the friendship. Clearly, I did have a much better time at schools with my teachers.

Furthermore, parents cannot have such a good education skill as teachers. Normally, everyone who want to be a teacher in the future have to apply to a specialized university of education and must be trained so hard for 4 years with 2 periods of internship in practical education environment. My friend, for instance, is regularly fined by his father because he cannot understand what his father taught him to complete his homework. However, when he asks our teacher about those exercises, she explain it very understandably and extensively that my friend immediately understand the problems and finish all the exercises in 30 minutes. This example illustrates that teachers are always the best for the job of teaching and understanding their students.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, I believe that teachers have better influence on developing social relationship and intelligence of school students than parents.