Schools should focus on academic success and passing examinations. Skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should not be taught at school as it is better to learn these from family and friends. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is irrefutable that education systems have a considerable bearing on the development of children. Because of this, public opinion remains divided over how to effectively organize the educational curriculum in a bid to boost the quality of education. It is believed that schools should only help students succeed in gaining academic knowledge and formal examinations. I completely disagree with this point of view.

Firstly, there are only a few high-flyers who can achieve top marks and upper promotion after graduating, while the majority of students merely desire to make the grade. In fact, the job market today is highly competitive, those recruiters would prefer the most qualified employees for their vacancies, apparently for those ambitious and talented ones. Consequently, the remainders would miss the promotion opportunities due to the lack of other skills. Meanwhile, if schools create more extra-curriculum related to practical awareness such as cooking, dressmaking, and repairing electrical items, they will have more options in the future career ladder.

Secondly, whereas several children need to learn life capacity, there are no families and friends to instruct them. Compared to those lucky ones, numerous children do not have a supportive family. To be specific, in a single-parent household, where a working mother or father occupied with heavy workloads tends to have little time near her son and daughter, children are out of practice these essential pieces of knowledge. In the formative years, if children are guided with DIY skills, they are advantageous in forming children's personalities which enables them to be independent on costly food and even early have their own finance. It is sure that schools are the only places for them to acquire these.

To sum up, soft skills help students move up their ladder career and school should provide them this necessary knowledge as not every child has the good environment to gain them. For these reasons, it is clear that school should concentrate on both academic and practical skills.