Schools should focus on academic success and passing examinations. Skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should not be taught at school as it is better to learn these from family and friends.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, schools are focusing in academic success and passing examinations but they do not really care about some sort of extra-curricular like cookery, dressmaking or woodwork. I do not agree with the statement because we need to have expert in some specials skill to teach us how to do it with the right way and professional. Schools should be teaching others skills not just academic success or doing essay.

Secondly, schools can make some activities or some class that help student study want they like and what they need. Take example about the woodwork class, some student that have creative mind can make products that helpful in life and explore new things, not just academic boring class. In addition, extra-curricular can help them make new friends and get more connection in school.

In the other hand, open class like woodwork or cookery class may needs a lot of money to spend on the facilities and professor, and not all the student want to study class like that and they will not enjoy it at all and will feel exhausted and tired after school.

To sum up, teaching skills like cookery, dressmaking or woodwork are have positive and negative effect. But I think the positive effect is more than the negative, they can make student have more skills in life and have time to do what they like, not just study boring academic lesson in schools. Especially after a long day in class and no exercise that help you improve your soul or your creativity mind.