Schools should focus on academic success and passing examinations. Skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should not be taught at school as it is better to learn these from family and friends

I approve of academic success and passing examinations is the centre of attention at school. However, many skills such as cookery, dressmaking, woodwork should not be taught at school is not the best way for pupils these day. I believed that there are many better ways far outweigh that idea.

To begin with, teaching skills in the same manner with cookery, dressmaking and woodwork at school will bring many benefits for students and play an indispensable role in the life. Learning these skills with the educators at school help students have a standardized curriculum, it makes sure that this is robust foundation of knowledge for students to get a wall-paid job in the future. Besides, there are opputunities for pupils to not only improve their teamwork but also develop their social skills. For instance, if pupils study abroad or live in some where is far from their parents, knowing about cooking skills will be a huge advantages as they can cook themselves whatever they want, meeting their own nutritional needs, living independently and also saving some money to pay for vital things later.

In addition, one of reasons why non-academic subjects are taught at school instead of taught at home mainly because at school there is better learning area, have many peers to compete for the motivation and it is more professional. Moreover, some families’ background are extremely difficult and even if they do not have enough time to earn a living, let alone studying that subjects at home. Thus, the richness of learning some skills just as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork far surpasses the shallowness of learning ones at home.

In conclusion, although learning cookery, dressmaking and woodwork at home in some case might be good, there are a bunch of different circumstances demonstrate that is not the best way as I mentioned above.