Science can now offer people a life expectancy of close to one hundred years or even more. Some people view it in a positive light, but others believe it creates some problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Over the years, people have been dreaming of acquiring an immortal life, which supports them with limitless time to fulfil their wishes, owing to the innovative science. On the other hand, that everlasting life of human beings might have adverse effects not only on each individual but also on the environment. In this essay, I will discuss both perspectives and my personal opinion will also be appended at the end.

First of all, if humans were given a chance to live over a century, that means they would have countless moments to enjoy the time with their beloved ones and to accomplish their goals. Unlike an individual with an average lifespan who has a deadline in their life, they could learn life and moral lessons more. Moreover, many people believe that the world will be a better and happier place to reside in if there is no more grief and misery over the deaths of their beloved ones.

On the contrary, an everlasting life doesn’t guarantee that one will encounter with only good things in life. As they grow older, their health could be deteriorated day by day, if so, they will have to struggle and depend on others for their daily activities. They need to strive hard to meet the demands, since their lifetime is more extended than others.

Besides, it will also have detrimental impacts on their surroundings. Considering that the death rates would be declined, there could be over-expansion of the human population, and by virtue of that, the negative consequences such as poverty, shortage of food and water supply, accommodation problems or environmental pollution might be experienced in the meantime.

To recapitulate, there will always be two schools of thoughts whether having a metaphorical life is good or bad, depending on how people appreciate their ways of life. Personally, I think more drawbacks can be witnessed when a longer lifetime is granted to the humankind.