Some people believe that to be successful at a sport you need a natural ability and others think that hard work and practice can make you successful. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

These days, as sports become famous among commoners, thoughts and attitudes towards athletics have been changing over time. Some people argue that the victory of athletes comes straight from their genes, while others claim that it is directly proportionate to their strong will to overcome potential hurdles. In this essay, I will analyze both sides of the perceptions and my personal conviction will also be appended at the end.

To begin with, the inborn talent might be a huge advantage for a sportsman to become victorious without much dedicated effort. Those who are gifted with such unique genetic makeup as longer legs or remarkable eyesight would be able to obtain their highest performance in a particular sports field, even if they do not perform the intense practice. Take the Kenyan people as an example. Kenyans who live at a high altitude, possess more red blood cells, which make them to keep invincible stamina, and this could lead them to be the fastest runners in the world. However, it would still contribute to the risk of being indolent and less motivated.

On the other hand, a sportsperson who lacks adequate training, techniques, and a strong inclination to win a match, could not be a triumphant champion, however, they are born with natural aptitude. It is not their instinct, which induces them to be on the top of the rank. Above all, their distinct mindset and motive against the competition is the most momentous trigger which brings them the championship in a neck-to-neck competition. Nevertheless, it is undeniable that those who are deficient in the inborn ability, require more travails and fierce training than those with skills.

To sum up, if it is to say that the natural ability is the reason behind the victory of a competitor, then the assiduous persistence and powerful tendency to win the tournament polish that ability to be a master in the game. Likewise, I consider that it is acknowledgeable that they are complementary to each other.