Scientists believe that computers will become more intelligent than human beings. Some people find it is a positive trend while others think it is a negative development. Discuss both points and give your own opinion

Opinions are divided on whether the fact that human intelligence will be surpassed by that of computers is beneficial or harmful. Although highly-intelligent computers can

assist humans in many ways, I am apprehensive about this development.

Admittedly, many people champion the assistance of super advanced computers, and

justifiably so. This is because these machines could greatly improve productivity as they

could eliminate human involvement in the course of production and work tirelessly 24/7. However, only employers seem to benefit from this, while countless jobs would be

terminated, penalizing the most vulnerable section of the human population. In addition, although computers with the ability to think critically and logically could help humans

make objectively sound decisions, this would create over-dependence, which would in

turn have a stultifying effect on human intelligence.

Furthermore, with its intelligence, robots may start to make their own decisions, posing

an existential threat to humankind. For example, robots, with a certain set of beliefs and

moral codes inserted, might decide a group of people or a religion should be eradicated

for the greater good of the human race. From a logical standpoint, humans are, in

essence, destroying the environment for the sake of economic growth, so it is

reasonable to worry that a robot might decide that the best course of action is to wipe

out human existence to protect the environment. These risks are too big for anyone to

take, rendering the brought forth development unwelcome.

In conclusion, robotic engineering and AI technologies can surely enhance people’s

quality of life, but the disadvantages of job losses, increased intellectual dependency on

computers and potential existential threats posed to our own race can negate the

aforementioned benefits.