Sending criminals to prison is the best method of dealing with them. Education and job training are a better way to help them. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people claim that criminals should be sent to prison instead of being educated or provided with training. while it is true that strict punishments should be imposed on the people who commit a crime, I believe that it is also necessary to increase their awareness and give them vocational training.

To begin with, there are several reasons why the government should send lawbreakers to prison. Firstly, there are people who are accused of serious illegal activities such as murder or terrorism, those must be isolated from society. if they are allowed to live in the community, it would be a threat to the safety of other residents. Secondly, since imprisonment is a strict punishment, it can be an effective method to warn others against breaking the law. For example, pedestrians in Singapore can be jailed in 6-month if they constitute the traffic violation of jaywalking.

However, I would argue that the authorities should also consider providing criminals with education and vocational training. Primarily, it is important to give the wrongdoers a good education, which would positively increase their awareness. As a result, the recurrence of violation can be prevented. In addition, as prisoners receive vocational training such as electrical or building work, they will have more chance to get a job after being freed from jail. if they have no skills or knowledge, they might find difficult to re-enter the workforce. This is one of the reasons why criminals re-commit a crime.

In conclusion, while it is necessary to put criminals to prison, I agree with the idea that the authorities should be also in consideration of improving the prisoner's awareness and providing them with vocational training.