Many Museum and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

Museums and historical places showcase the evidences of traditions and cultures of a region. It becomes an attraction for tourists to visit these places; however, there is still a low attendance of local citizens at these areas. This essay will discuss on the possible causes and solutions to tackle this problem.

There is a number of reasons explaining why local residents show little interest in museums and historical areas. Firstly, as local people seems to be familiar with the cultural and traditions of their areas, they have no curiosity about which are depicted at historical places and museums. In fact, many people prefer travelling to other countries to gain more knowledge about new culture and traditions rather than spending time at familiar destinations. Secondly, museums and historical houses often remain unchanged through years. Some sites even show signs of degradation, which prevents local people to pay a visit to these locations. For example, a number of facilities at Hai Phong remnant museum is now in the process of being spoiled, which prevents me to come back for a second visit. Another cause to the low number of local people’s visits is the charge of entrance fee which would be an issue for low and middle income locals.

To address this problem, there are some measures to be conducted. Primarily, historians and preservations should incorporate historical values and aesthetic appeal. The displays and concepts of museums and historical sites should have more decorations and changes during the time to create something new as a novelty for local residents. Furthermore, more investment should be poured into the improvement of display places by the government in order to reserve the premises in good condition thorough years. Finally, the government might scrap or discount the amount of entry fee for local people in some special occasions such as Independence Day, which may draw more local people to museums and historical places.

To conclude, local people might lack of interest in museums and historical areas at their region. To better this, local authorities and government can consider improving display activities and investing more in facilities and premises in such areas.