Sending criminals to prison is not the best method of dealing with them. Education and job training are better ways to help them. Do you agree or disagree?

Punishing disreputable criminals by incarceration is a topic debated by a number of people in the recent years. In my opinion, the administrations are adviced to equip offenders with educational programs and job training.

It is believed that ethical education and employment training for trespassed persons are the most appropriate approaches to facilitate the process of rehabilitation. Firstly, education with empathy is the pivotal factor in changing positively the offenders’ attitudes towards the society. Being comprehensively educated, wrongdoers will be able to understand the fundamental social disciplines and the sense of remorse, hence striving to be recognized as respectable citizens ultimately. Furthermore, criminals will find social reintegration and pursuing careers less difficult thanks to the thorough preparation for occupations. To clarify, providing job training for individuals who used to be burglars or robbers because of economic inadequacy would help them earn a sustainable living when coming back to the society, thus obviously mitigating the likelihood to relapse.

That is not to say behavioral education and job training is always effective to the wrongdoers. For instance, instead of taking the psychological remedies, offenders committed felonies such as terrorists or murderers will go to any lengths to escape and continue their infamous businesses eventually. By using rigorous measures such as incarceration or even capital punishment, those notorious individuals will be deprived from freedom forever, hence decreasing the probability of further recidivism.

In conclusion, the authorities should provide the proper education and job training or rigorous treatment for criminals basing on the seriousness of the conviction rather than imprisonment without any assessment.