A serious problem affecting countries right across the globe is the lack of water for drinking washing and other household uses Why do many countries face water shortage and what could be done to alleviate the problem

Water has always been one of the most precious resources for humankind. It is in demand in a huge variety of fields from agriculture to electricity generation all over the world. However, the water first of all is needed for drinking. No human can survive without this irreplaceable source. Unfortunately, people nowadays are facing an enormous problem of water shortages. This essay will examine some of the causes and put forward some solutions.

One of the major causes are plants and factories dumping their toxic wastes in the surrounding environment, including lakes and rivers. Although it is supposed to be illegal, it is still a quite frequent case. To prevent this from happening, I would suggest to strengthen the government control and to raise the fines as they are way too small.

Another reason is that people are constantly wasting water. Too much of it is used by us daily. Some of us don't even think about turning off the running water while brushing their teeth. The only solution for this is being more green about the water. People should get used to save at least a bit of it every day.

Finally, another two issues are global warming and climate change, that are mostly caused by the air pollution. Reducing car fumes might be the best decision. Thus, during the coronavirus isolation the situation has become much better as people were nor using public transport, neither riding their cars for a while.

To sum up, although water scarcity is rather a complicated problem, we are undoubtedly able to take some actions in sake of solving it at least partly. Government must take the lead in dealing with the pollution causes, while citizens should try being more green in order to achieve the success.