Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small number of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money. Discuss and gi

Regional languages are becoming more and more uncommon nowadays. There are hundreds of regional languages in India with thousands of dialects but due to the decreasing number of native speakers of these languages, many are on the brink of extinction, if not already bygone. It is argued that the government should play an active role in saving their existence by allowing funds for their promotion whereas many see this as a blatant waste of public money. This essay will shed light on both these opinions and make an argument for government backing for the purpose of reviving these languages.

Government should come to the forefront to rescue many regional languages which are facing extinction if we want to preserve our identity. Regional languages are an inseparable part of the cultural and heritage of local people and are therefore irreplaceable and invaluable. Thus, the administration must provide adequate funds so that their revival is construed by various methods of mass promotion. For instance, many ancient Indian scriptures and holy books were originally wriiten 'Pali' language which is now extinct. Naturally, such holy books could not be properly translated to modern languages and as such we may never know what treasuresare still lying hidden in them waiting to be deciphered. Hence, we shoud not let such situations happen again in future.

On the other hand, several people would not be in favour of spending public money on saving regional languages as they are of the opinion that although it is painful to see languages become obscure, public funds are too limited to be spend on such endeavours rather than being used for solving big glaring issues faced by the State such as population explosion, poverty, crime, joblessness, environental pollution and the like.

In conclusion, this essay would like to state that although regional languages serve no real purpose in bulding our economy, they must be safeguarded from extinction because they are fundamental to our identity and the connection that people have to their roots. As such, it becomes the State's duty to do its part in the struggle to keep our languages alive.