The shortage of houses in big cities causes many consequences. Only government actions can resolve this problem. Do you agree or disagree with this idea?

the critics argue about the consequences that the shortage of houses in big cities could cause, which can only be solved by the act of the government. To some extent, I advocate this opinion due to the permission of the government.

To begin with, big cities often have a large quantity of civilians, consisted of both people who lived there for years and those who just arrived. Due to that, the need of residents for houses will be more urgent than ever. Because of that, the shortage of houses would cause any big city numerous of problems such as homeless people or degradation of old dormitory due to the overload in numbers of people in the city. for example, in 2017, researchers have stated that because of the skyrocketed of civilians in New York, many old buidings in the center of the city, especially apartments were degraded. And to secure the safety for civilians, those buildings ought to be removed.

With that being stated, the only possible solution that is effective is through the act of government. With their authority, they will be able to build new houses, apartments, dormitories through capital mobilization. Moreover, the government can invest in old buuldings by renovating them, albiet the quality might not as good as the new ones. However, with every new houses built by the act of government, the decrease in numbers of homeless people or those who can not find one to buy is evitable. For example, after a few years of reconstructing old buildings ad create new ones, in 2019, rates of homeless people in New York dipped steeply at about 20% compared to 2 years earlier period.

To sum up what have been stated so far, it is undeniable that government actions played a massive role in solving problems of the shortage of houses. And in my point of view, it can not only solved the problems but can also help the city developed in variety of ways as a result of the previous actions.