Should capital punishment be banned? Are there any better alternatives?

There has been a controversial debate about the possibility of imposing capital punishment. From my perspective, by no means should capital punishment be enforced, and I believe there are more efficient alternatives that could be applied instead.

There are two major reasons against the enforcement of death penalty. Firstly, such irreversible punishment may lead to the execution of people who have been given a wrong verdict. There were cases that those who were not committed in any crime were on death row due to the mistaken conviction of the judge, and only after receiving the death penalty were they proved to be innocent. Secondly, this kind of punishment does not deter crimes. Contrary to the belief that capital punishment would act as a deterrent to crimes, the evidence from some cities which still applied capital punishment showed little reduction of the crime rate. Thus, there would not be any correlation between the crime rate and the imposition of such punishments. Furthermore, capital punishment is against the prior purpose of punishment, which is to rehabilitate the offenders.

I believe there would be more efficient alternatives than capital punishment. One alternative is to do community service, which is implemented as a solution to prison packed. It is also believed that by helping local communities, offenders would reform their behavior and have motivation to re-enter the society. Most nations replace the death penalty with life sentence with or without parole in the belief in which it is a more humane and cost-effective way of punishment.

In conclusion, death penalty should be abolished due to the possibility of mistaken execution and the inability to deterring crimes. Thanks to better alternatives, community service and life sentence have positive effects as opposed to capital punishment.