Should healthcare be funded totally by the government for every one?

Nowadays, the question of whether healthcare should be financed by the government or not has been receiving a great deal of public attention. In my opinion, individuals and the government should be jointly responsible for this area.

There are some compelling reasons why medical care should be totally financed by government. First, since many patients, especially those coming from impoverished families, fail to pay for the medical fees, it is imperative to aid them by financial support. In fact, a number of fees such as medication, treatment, medical services are truly exorbitant, which implies that the support of the government will save human lives. Second, by funding medical care costs, governments can fulfill the responsibility of its citizens. This means that citizens have paid taxes to national budget, and thus they are entitled for basic services including public health.

Nevertheless, the disadvantages of this policy are obvious to some extent. First, if government subsidizes all the costs of medical treatment, it is apparent that it is unfair for those hard-working and well-hearted citizens. In fact, various diseases can be attributed to bad habits such as drinking and smoking. Therefore, they are more likely to take the free healthcare system for granted and overexploit it, so they do not take responsibility for their health. In addition, by fully funding the health service fees, it will put a heavy burden on state budget. In reality, the government has a whole host of fields to care such as education, politics, economy, and so forth, which leads to the depletion of the national fund.

In conclusion, we cannot deny that both sides are well-grounded. By considering all the pros and cons of this trend, governments should draw the best policy for its citizens.