Scientist say that in the future humanity will speak the same language. Do you think this is a positive or negative social development?

Today, the question of whether the whole world should speak the same language has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although promoting a global language is not without its advantages, its disadvantages need to be considered more.

There are a multitude of manifest advantages when the linguistic homogeneity appears. First, since the global language can facilitate the communication between people, it will allow countries to make their economy flourish/thrive. Singapore can be a great illustration/ a salient example of this situation as it is a country where English is adopted as the official language, paving the way/opening the avenues for foreign investments to penetrate into Singapore’s market thanks to the easy trade and business transaction. Second, by promoting global language, people have the opportunity to gain a wealth of knowledge. It is apparent that they will have a chance to explore all the know- how (knowledge) of humans being in a language, which will help them gain deeper understanding in a wide range of fields such as science, math, and so forth, by extension, carve out more breakthroughs for humans.

Nevertheless, the disadvantages of encouraging people to speak the solely global language are obvious to some extent. First, in order to integrate into the world and to use the global language synchronously, many countries will either give up their native language, or put it in a low priority position. There is ample evidence to suggest that the development of a global language might come at the expense of the native language that has been associated with the customs and practices of a nation over time, directly posing harzard to the prosperity of national culture. Second, if the whole world uses the same language, it is likely that we will lose cultural diversity. For instance, as international media recognises English as its root language, most of the broadcasted information is related to the lifestyle, norms and beliefs of English-speaking countries, and it might put many minority cultures on the verge of extinction, causing people to live in a simple and monotonous world and think and act in similar ways due to the destructive effects of shrinking cultural diversity.

In conclusion, galvanizing people around the globe into using the same language will benefit them in terms of economic development and enriching knowledge, however, they need to consider tremedous effects of abandoning the native language. By taking the language synchronization in a positive way and preserving the native language, people will reap more benefits.