Should students be allowed to choose which classes they take, or should they be required to take the same classes as everyone else?What are the advantages and disadvantages of each approach to education?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevan

Education has been viewed as an essential part of individual and social development. Some people think all students should take the same standard curricula, but the question is whether the students should be allowed to choose their interested classes or not.

Some good arguments in defense of standard curricula set for every student. Firstly, learners need a common foundation before they acquire more advanced knowledge. Without the opportunity to gain basic knowledge through courses designed for every learner, students would find it difficult to further their education. Secondly, subjects and contents of courses set for every student also help schools to better prepare a competitive workforce for the future. Students' own selections of courses may be random and purely interest-based. By contrast, the mandatory courses are collected statistics on the labour market and hire expects, which help to prepare students for the labour market.

On the other hand, some people argue that an official curriculum is not always more productive. Individual students have different characters and abilities, and students in different schools may have varied needs. If all the students in the same grade in a region or country are required to take the same courses and study the same contents, their potential is unlikely to be full achieved. Students may even feel frustrated with learning as many of the required courses do not interest or challenge them.

My own view that primary school students should take standard courses chosen for every learner because they tend to lack the ability to find out courses that will best meet their needs. On the secondary level, however schools should encourage students to participate in the decision-making process of designing the curriculum. Therefore, secondary schools provide their students with curricula that can help them to achieve their academic potential.