Should students be allowed to choose which classes they take, or should they be required to take the same classes as everyone else?

What are the advantages and disadvantages of each approach to education?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

People have different interests that compel them to go to school. Even in universities, students, in the same major, have various interests, and this can be clearly seen in most faculties in which they offer a wide range of elective courses. In this piece of writing, I am going to explore the pros and cons of the impact on learning of letting students choose their classes.

Persevere students are keen to study a variety of classes, customized curriculum, for the sake of acquiring knowledge as much as possible. Take information and computer science, college students, as an example, they can not have a great success unless they are being distinguished among their fellows. This is because not a fixed curriculum is sufficient when it comes to computer science, as it is a broad subject. Therefore, letting students choose what they want to take will help them achieve the highest possible knowledge that is suitable for them.

However, students may get lost, as some schools do not provide adequate academic advising. It is not easy, especially for newcomers, students select what class they want to join, and it is made difficult in schools where no proper advising. This can create a failure out of an excellent student. For instance, first-year students join college after finishing high school and put into spot to select what will be studied is challenging. The main reason is that high school students have fixed courses that automatically be registered with no interference for the student. If the school guarantee to provide academic advising for those students, it can mitigate the risk of being susceptible to feel lost.

In conclusion, both sides of the coin have advantages and disadvantages. As a personal opinion, students should be granted freedom to select which course they want to study, but after all, schools must put a proper registration policy in place.