Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore smoking should be banned in public places.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In present era, there is a rising trend of smoking, especially among the younger generation. Smoking has evident detrimental effects on both, the smoker and the people in his surroundings. It is claimed that, smoking should be prohibited in the public areas. I strongly agree that, smoking should be banned publicly to prevent its negative aspects on people.

To begin, there are many drawbacks of smoking which have progressive impacts on both individual and environmental level. First and foremost, it increases the risk of many health related issues in human beings, due to presence of disease producing chemicals in tobacco . For instance, a rising trend of lung related diseases, like tuberculosis and lung cancer, has been reported in smokers. Furthermore, the smoke not only damages the body of the smoker, but also results in many unfavourable outcomes in the surrounding people. Moreover, it is very distressful and challenging for non-smokers to work in the smoking places. So, there is urgent need to halt smoking in populated areas.

There is, however, a faction that claims that there are some challenges in preventing public smoking. Firstly, many resources will be consumed to construct specified smoking areas to restrict smoking at work place and other public places. Simultaneously, there might be no checks and balances on people who are constrained to stay in specific smoking places.

To recapitulate, although there are few disadvantages of stopping people from smoking publicly, it has many beneficial impacts. I strongly agree to halt smoking in populated areas because it will remarkably decline the percentage of health related problems. Moreover In the same way, it can aid in developing a comfortable environment at the work place ,as well as at other public places like shopping malls, restaurants and public transport.