Social media is affecting people’s lives negatively. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is widely acknowledged that social media plays a significant role and the impact of social media on the lives of people has always been a controversial topic throughout the years. Although it is argued that social media is harmful resulting from the declines in face-to-face communication along with the potential danger that might undesirably affect people who participate in social media while others believe that users are able to improve their confidence in real life communication and have control over their privacy settings. From my perspective, I believe that the effect of social media on the lives of people is not harmful for people.

It is understandable that some people are concerned about the risk of privacy invasion. For example, their data might be leaked that provide an opportunity for scammers to better gain access to personal information and take advantage of it. While this thinking is valid to a certain extent, however, others contend that this can be fixed because the users are voluntarily and they are able to take control of their accounts by filtering the information before posting it on social media. For instance, the privacy of users is guaranteed by the feature of social media that allows people to go private and limit the number of people that are able to see the secret information; therefore, helpfully prevent from the risk of losing personal crucial data.

In addition, social media has a wide-range of networks that provide global connectivity, it enables the interaction between people and cuts off geographical barriers. Besides, a decline in face to face communication between people is being contributed by several factors that are not just social media including diseases such as Covid-19, which would limit the working range of people and have a strong impact on the economies of the world without the help of social media. Moreover, the potential application of social media has been proved due to its help during the quarantine by arranging the meetups between people and fueling the productivity of individuals compared to working in a workplace.

In conclusion, while it is argued that social media is negatively affecting people’s lives negatively, I am convinced that social media not only plays an important role but also greatly contributes to major advances in multiple applications.