Social media has replaced the traditional methods of communication and people use more and more social media to communicate and to follow news and events Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

The argument over social media has been ongoing for years. Some people consider it to be beneficial in terms of communication. From my perspective, I partly agree with this idea and will discuss several compelling reasons in the following essay.

On the one hand, social media definitely enhances the quality of communication. First and foremost, it is a marvelous means to maintain and strengthen our existing relationships. Thanks to the invention of the internet and the enormous number of social platforms, we now can connect to our far-distance relatives or friends, for example, to have some catch-up with them, update each other’s lives. By this, bonds will never fade or become weaker. Secondly, social media provides people with tremendous opportunities to build new relationships and expand their circle of friends. Because of its typical feature of allowing people to connect through two electric devices, it enables us to communicate with others at any time and from anywhere. This helps improve and create international friendship.

On the other hand, social media does harm to communication to some extent. The main problem is that, like a twofold knife, it has both positive (due to the point mentioned in the previous paragraph) and negative impacts on real life relationships. As I have mentioned, social media creates great chances for virtual friendships to flourish, but if one pays too much attention to this kind of relationship, they can easily neglect their actual friends and their beloved ones. This surely takes a toll on individuals’ real relationships.

In conclusion, social media has both advantages and disadvantages concerning communication.