Social media such as Facebook, Twitter is replacing face-to-face contact in people's everyday lives. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In the light of the prevalence of technologies, some social platforms such as Fb, Ins make in-person contact no longer necessary. While this development mays have some drawbacks, I believe the benefits that it brings are far greater than the downsides it has.

On the one hand, the popularity of social networks is disadvantageous to some certain extent. As the lack interaction and self obsessive passion, some people, especially teenagers today are becoming more rely on technical devices. Take Vietnamese for example, when hanging out with friends to the cafeteria, they prefer sticking their eyes to phones instead of chatting with their friends and thus can lead to the decrease of the sympathy and their friendship. This is a clearly testament to how social media can affect the indifference on others.

On the other hand, Iam of the opinion that there are more merits while people choose to use the social networks more. Due to the rise of the online networks, people have made the distance between people becoming closer. This is because social media and other online communication forms have made it much easier to contact people everywhere they live. For instance, overseas students still can make a video call to their friends or family even if they are living in another country, with the aid of online platforms which save more time and costs.

In addition, online networks also provide a place for people to share interests to keep the connection. It is noticeable that there are multiple groups in Facebooks or Instagram for those who love cats, films, or groups for volunteers, clubs,…which can hold discussion and explore deeper in that themes. This goes to show that besides its drawbacks, social media still have a mean in connection people to get closer.

In a nutshell, the development of social platforms may have some demerits, however in my point of view, the advantages of these proliferation outweigh the downsides they have.