Social networking sites are believed to influence badly on the society

to what extent do you agree or disagree?

Social networking sites are likely the most effective tool in researching and connecting people - to - people. But in some opinions, these social platforms maintain a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. And this essay will discuss both agree and disagree points of view.

To begin with, we can not deny that social platforms such as Facebook play an integral part to our life. Especially when it first comes out that these sites could effectively support various kinds of jobs: multi-media public relation, digital marketing,... People who work in these aspects often go on Facebook or Instagram to analyze their clients’ insights, or the markets’ requirements, or simply some up-to-date things so that they can catch up with the flow and provide the most appropriate products. Many companies are trying to shift their main markets into social media, and this has already brought them enormous profits. And second of all, these platforms have created a huge innovation in connecting people - to- people. We are living in the COVID - 19 pandemic era, where all offline daily activities have turned into online ones. If it was not for social networking sites, society would not be allowed to meet their basic needs such as communicating or interacting.

On the other hand, these social platforms still maintain various drawbacks. , they cause addiction in teenagers, who mostly can not manage their time and can easily get overusing status. Based on some social research reports, social media has programmed an algorithm to keep the users concentrating on their newsfeed without noticing their other works. This has led to a perspective that instead of focusing on their study or work, the youth will choose to spend all day long on Facebook, Instagram to entertain themselves. As a result, we have observed/witnessed an exponential rise in teenagers who are in crisis after losing their track of work due to social networks. And the “users analyzing programmes” mentioned above brings out the second threat of social media - identity theft. The users would easily get exposed about their personal information. It used to be a lawsuit between Facebook and the Australian government for Facebook had invaded and illegally analyzed users data for approximately a decade.

From my perspective, the government should promulgate appropriate laws about the Internet environment, so not only it can ensure the users’ privacy, but also not to deteriorate the potential that social media platforms can give us.