The society would benefit from a ban on all forms of advertising because it serves no useful purpose, and even be damaging. Do you agree or disagree?

Advertising is considered completely useless and even detrimental to the society and thereby, people believe that imposing a ban on it may bring about benefits for a country. While I acknowledge the downsides of advertisements, I would argue that there should not be a complete ban

On the one hand, there are several reasons to believe that advertising has negative impacts on our life. Firstly, manufacturers and entrepreneurs, in order to boost up their sales and profits, spare no effort to promote their products with captivating advertisements, which may consist of stunning pictures, extraordinary effects and exaggerated contents. This stimulates potential buyers and results in impulsive purchases of unnecessary commodities. Secondly, some companies deliberately aims at children, and what they do is that they expose children to colorful and appealing commercials for products such as toys. Since the young children are inexperienced, they are apparently influenced by these advertisements and consequently put pressure on their parents to purchase them items.

On the other hand, I hold the perception that prohibition of advertisements is not a sound initiative. From economic perspective, without the existence of commercials, the country economy would suffer severely. There may be a boom in unemployment rate as those who are working in the advertising industry would become jobless. In addition, companies could face plenty of challenges improving their profits owing to the fact that less consumers are aware of their products and services. From buyers’ perspective, commercials keep them informed on different products and alternatives that are available. As a result, without advertisements, consumers may find it challenging making purchases as there is little information on the choices that they are offered.

In conclusion, advertising, albeit being harmful to the community somehow, appears to have vital roles to certain extent. As such, I believe that banning it is not reasonable.