The society would benefit from a ban on all forms of advertising because it serves no useful purpose, and even be damaging. Do you agree or disagree?

An advertisement has become an extremely controversial subject recently. Some advocates believe that contemporary society would find it advantageous to illegalize all modes of advertisement. In my opinion, I completely disagree with the banning of any forms of advertising.

Some proponents think that a ban should be implemented on adverts. This may be derived from the idea that; advertisement could potentially be a waste of time, money and resources. For instance, take smoking as an example. Even though every packet of cigarette illustrates: ‘smoking is injurious to health’, with an additional disturbing image of a throat or lung cancer, people continue the habit of smoking and take no heed to the message being delivered. Thus, people believe advertisement expenses could be used in other aspects of society that could be more useful.

In contrast, an advertisement could bring about considerable benefits to society. Advertising is a form of promotion, hence, people could be made more aware of charitable organizations such as homeless children or cancer relief charities. This provides awareness to those that may wish to contribute to financially helping those in need. For example, research carried out in the UK suggested that the number of donations substantially increased after a television advertisement of a homeless children organization. Therefore, these forms of advertisements could be significantly beneficial for society.

After considering the reasons some people would advocate the banning of advertisement. I wholeheartedly disagree with initiating the ban. As discussed in this essay, there are some remarkable positive aspects of advertisements such as realization of the helpless people in the society that might need financial aid.