The society would benefit from a ban on all forms of advertising because it serves no useful purpose, and can even be damaging. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Advertising in modern society is ubiquitous - on the radio, TV, the internet and in our letterboxes. While advertising has many disadvantages, the positive influence of advertising outweighs the negative. So, I disagree that there should be a ban on all advertisements.

It is true that advertising provides us with information on new products. If it were not for electronic and print advertising, many products would not be bought. In this way, advertising provides an important service to manufacturers and some consumers. Additionally, it fuels the advertising industry, creating jobs for thousands of people. In this respect it has the backbone of many economies of the world.

Furthermore, advertisements touch social issues. For example, when Amitabh Bachhan tells people to bring their children for pulse polio immunization, people listen. Then there are ads against female foeticide which are very informative. Advertisements also teach a lot about the country from where the ads come. This is because through satellite TV we can see ads from all over the world. When we see a Japanese advert of a lady in a kimono, we come to know about the clothes of Japan.

However, Adverts also have a downside. Television commercials are a great example of this. Just as we are enjoying a TV program, a commercial break occurs, forcing us to listen. Advertising can also promote consumerism. People can become greedy for a new product and they can become discontent with what they already have. In the end, the consumer is never really satisfied, always wanting newer and better‘ products. Then, ads show dangerous stunts which may be copied by children and they may get hurt. Finally, some ads target children and so children pester parents to buy things which can upset the family budget.

On balance, I believe that as every rose is accompanied by thorns, ads too have their disadvantages. Overall, the advantages far outweigh the disadvantages. So we should not ban ads. The government can, however, ban some ads which show stunts or which make false claims.