Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

“Going green” is the latest trend in environmental conservation and management aspect. Burning fossil fuels has many negative consequences including global warming, climate change in which the whole world is experiencing at the moment. With these impacts, people are more concern on utilizing renewable energy sources over non-renewable ones. Solar energy being a clean energy source is becoming more popular in many countries as an alternative energy source to fossil fuels.

Utilization of solar energy has many advantages. Among them, the most important one is that after installation, it is freely available and requires no maintenance. This produces clean energy using the sunlight which is totally environmental friendly. Sometimes the energy produced herein can be transmitted to the main grid so this in turn provides an additional income to the household as a reward for the contribution.

However, there are some drawbacks of photo-voltaic systems. The major drawback is that they cannot be used in rainy weather conditions because they are more efficient in tropical regions where there is enough sunlight. Because the energy is stored in the solar cells during the day time and this stored energy is supplied to the household during the night. If there is no adequate quantities of sunlight it will not be much profitable and efficient to install solar panels. The other drawback worth mentioning is that it incurs high installation costs which makes it unaffordable for middle class people. And also, the size of the system makes it inconvenient to handle.

But, in my point of view, solar energy being eco-friendly, renewable and efficient outweigh the drawbacks which makes it a feasible source of energy in most of the countries around the world.