Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximize chances of employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, students spend a lot of money and time for tertiary education. Since the parents persuade their children to continue the secondary education in science related subjects, majority of the students tend to follow subjects like engineering and medicine over the others. This is with the sole expectation of entering a career path with many remunerations. But, one cannot disregard the importance of arts subjects such as philosophy and history. Because, not everyone is expertise on the science related subjects involving complex calculations, theories etc.

Studying a subject like philosophy offers many benefits to students. These include improvement in logical thinking, arguing and debating. On the other hand, learning the local history and world history would make students more patriotic. Apart from that, it would convince the students on the strategies in the management of social and natural calamities. Moreover, there is a saying “history repeats”. So one can learn from the history about the good governance, international relationships, and political stability of the country accordingly.

However, people with innate talents in science and engineering should be given the opportunity to follow undergraduate courses as they desire and achieve their ultimate goals. Because, as a world, it is very important to carry out research projects and discover the hidden treasures in the fields like medicine to cure people with non-communicable diseases. Not only that, the engineers could help the world with new innovations and inventions to make the Earth, a pleasant place to thrive in for all the living beings.

To conclude, I totally disagree with the opinion which is put up so as not to teach arts subjects at universities. Furthermore, I would like to suggest that even a student follows a science or engineering course, it is better if he/she has a knowledge in arts subjects in order to improve their logical thinking.