some believe that Increasing travels between countries enables people to learn different cultures. However, others think this can increase tension between people from different countries.

Discuss both views and give your opinion

Dramatic increase in transnational visits has led to an opinion being divided as to whether this trend would effect greater misunderstanding or harmonious ties between countries. Although such development is not always welcomed in some areas, generally it is of great benefit to both sides.

the former view is often predicated on the belief that overseas holidaymakers would bring with them lifestyles that maybe incompatible to local people. For example, in Vietnam, Western visitors are by and large urbanites who have been accustomed to having parties until midnight, whereas the natives, especially the elderly, have a habit of sleeping early which means the local ones would feel irritated by and have an antagonistic attitude to the foreigners. However, this is not a common case because relationship between visitors and local people are usually economically motivated. International travel generates opportunities for local people to open businesses to accommodate foreigners’ needs, while international entrepreneurs can seek investment opportunities in new places.

the latter view believe that cross-cultural interactions can ease inherent tensions between countries. it is obvious that differences in social background, cultural values and religious belief might make the discrepancy between visitors and local inhabitants pertaining to certain issues indelible. Nevertheless, the higher interaction, the higher level of communication and multicultural understanding. For instance, Vietnamese people used to consider the American as their foes, but now they have forged concrete relations in many fields. Their divergence was enormous; however, over time they have reached some agreements on many problems, such as immigration and international crime.

in conclusion, despite some annoyance potentially emerging from encounters between the local and foreign, it is safe to say that international tourism plays a vital role in not only promoting business but also harmony between nations.