University students should pay the full cost for their own study because university education benefits individuals rather than society.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With labor intensive economy giving way to knowledge-based one, it is argued that university students should pay the full post-school tuition fees as they are the main beneficiaries of such education. I believe subsidizing tertiary education can produce an accumulatively beneficial effect on society and individuals.

While laying the future of a country over students, governments cannot shirk from responsibility of funding their education. it is obvious that the growth of an economy largely rests on young talents, so financially supporting them is an improvident investment, not a waste of money even though this is not always the case. A prime example of this is America where million dollars have been invested in higher education, sponsoring students’ studies by scholarships, subsidies, allowances and student loans. As a result, it can be expected that these well-educated aspiring students, after graduation, will constitute a main drive of a state’s development. Moreover, it is advisable that a reasonable portion of tax revenue, mainly sourced from parents, should be ploughed back to their children.

It is also of note that some universities are seeking to force extra charges over students to extend their profit margin, causing deleterious effects on the future of some students. Over years, many private institutions have become increasingly business-focused and deviated from the essential task of improving teaching quality. The persistence of such problem has made the schools less credible, teaching quality and faculty uneven. One result of this is education and then students’ employability will decline.

In conclusion, letting students cover all the education expenditure means many of them, especially able ones, cannot realize their potentials and contribute much to the well-being of their country, while some universities can take advantage of this to enlarge their profits.