Some believe that modern technology is increasing the gap between rich and poor people, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Since the Internet bubble during the late 1990s, the world has entered the era of unprecedented technological advancement, leading to the mounting debate on the gulf between the affluent and the impoverished. Although the role of technology in alleviating the hardship of poor people is undeniable, I am inclined toward the view that it has been, concurrently, widening the income inequality.

Advocates of technology often argue that such development has improved the living conditions of the needy at a significantly fast pace. Admittedly, technological products and services are becoming ever cheaper, so now even those earning a low income can possess mobile devices and, consequently, have access to the Internet. With many free courses offered online covering a wide range of topics of academic and practical knowledge, they can gain an alternative education without attending school and paying fees, which they may be unable to afford. Besides the all-important access to education, newly developed technology can aid inhabitants of remote, deprived areas to have clean water, improve farming techniques and enjoy sustainable energy, such as hydropower and solar energy.

Notwithstanding the strengths of modern technology in helping people escape poverty, I believe that it has also been, simultaneously, expanding the inequality gap. When technology develops, it has been replacing many jobs heretofore reserved for the middle- and low-income workers with robots and artificial intelligence, thereby increasing the level of unemployment, as seen in Southern Europe recently, and social unrest. Furthermore, technology-driven economies usually favour a small group of successful individuals by amplifying their talent and luck. Therefore, while development is occurring and the total incomes of such countries are growing, high-tech entrepreneurs, such as the founders of great companies like Facebook, Google or Alibaba, are seen to profit disproportionately compared with the remainder.

In conclusion, I am for the idea that modern developments in technology, albeit beneficial to low-income people, have given the rich a far greater boost, which exacerbates the wealth disparity issue.