Some believe that people today have no interest in maintaining the traditional culture of their country or region. Other believe that it is still important to people that we preserve a traditional way of life. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The preservation of cultural values and traditions have long been accumulating concerns in this technology-driven era. While many support the oblivion of conventional cultures, I am more of the maintenance of a traditional lifestyle because of the following reasons.

Some argue that people nowadays are no longer eager to preserve their past customs as a result of globalization and technological advancement. A globalized society has indeed influenced the native’s mindset and driven them to follow the specific norms and beliefs. By virtue of this, many cultural values and traditional notions are put in jeopardy. To illustrate, teenagers are now replacing their own traditional clothing with new modern suits just by assuming that they are already outdated. Furthermore, the indigenous are now embracing many technological advances, be it updated mobile gadgets or computerized control systems. This would drive the fast-paced and preoccupied lifestyles in the communities, hence triggering the gradual disappearance of cultural traditions as less time are spent on cultural preservation.

Nonetheless, the importance of protecting the traditional customs are undeniable, especially in this modernized society. Firstly, some cultures are distinctive and can be differentiated from others. Due to their uniqueness, they are well-preserved not only for social and religious beliefs but also for commercial purposes. In other words, these cultural identities could attract many visitors around the world, thus increasing tourism revenue. Secondly, as cultures and traditions represent their ancestors’ lessons and values, many countries are still now holding some social events such as religious rituals or the Olympics game. This would help to ignite the interest among the youth in their traditional background, thereby urging their desire to maintain their traditions and cultures.

To conclude, although the interest in protecting cultures and traditions may be vague in this globalized yet technology-driven society, I believe that cultural preservation is necessary when it comes to tourism and the ancestors’ values.