Some believe that people today have no interest in maintaining the traditional culture of their country or region. Other believe that it is still important to people that we preserve a traditional way of life. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Globalisation has affected our lives in many ways and one of the most the profound effects is cultural intermingling. However, a common opinion is that we are not likely to maintain our own traditional culture if we carry out such a practice. I, however, partially, disagree with this statement.

First and foremost, cultural customs are the traditions of our ancestors passed down to younger generations, so we must appreciate this. Moreover, maintaining the indigenous culture not only promotes a sense of belonging but also makes the younger generation respect their ancestors. For example, traditional Vietnamese New Year when people always go back to their home for family reunions and hope for a better forthcoming year.

One the other hand, some say that those cultures are out of date and inappropriate. Critics argue that there are several cultures that we need to change to adapt to modern-day lifestyle and develop in the digital age, one such example is when some people have a goal, they always go to the church to pray and make a wish instead of trying to achieve it.

To sum up, I think the whole point of exploring and exposing yourself to different cultures is good because we get a flavour of each other’s differences and in turn, we begin to treat others equally, regardless of race or ethnicity. I hold the opinion that preserving and maintaining the traditional culture of a country or region should be a priority in the long term.