Some businesses find that their new employees lack basic interpersonal skills such as cooperative skills. What are the causes and suggest possible solutions.

Some businesses complain about the shortage of interpersonal skills ranging from communication skills to cooperative skills amongst young employees. Acknowledging the fact that the reasons could lie in the way family and school educate the young, employers could apply some training methods to improve their staffs’ skills.

Several educational reasons might explain new employees’ interpersonal skills deficit. Families should hold responsible for the dominant problem. In the business world, interpersonal skills are the way one works with others including colleagues, managers, and clients. Those skills could be self-taught by observing the behaviors of parents who set as an example for their children. However, in some Asian countries, for example, children are heavily imposed on hierarchical management and encouraged to accomplish individual successes rather than being team players collaborating with others towards commonly held aims. Furthermore, educational institutions often accentuate the significance of academic achievements; therefore, teaching fundamentally social intelligence is regarded as an unworthy practice.

However, interpersonal skills could be honed as long as businesses support initiatives to tackle this issue. In the workplace, employees with a pleasant demeanor and a solution-oriented attitude should be appreciated as a way to emphasize the importance of these desirable personality traits. Businesses could allocate a certain number of funds to organize workshops and training sessions. For instance, managers could chair a meeting weekly that allows employees to exchange their ideas about how to cultivate skills such as conflict management and an ability to read others' signals and form a response simultaneously. A more decent approach is to invite professional guest speakers to provide a big boost. Finally, companies could make it clear that cooperative skills would be their compulsory prerequisites for employment. As a result, job seekers would adjust their tactics from highlighting their academic accomplishments to promoting their social skills.

In conclusion, if parents and teachers are aware of the importance of interpersonal skills and work with companies to redesign teaching methods, employees could enhance their potential in their careers’ progression and firms also benefit from the well-educated and high-quality workforce.