Some businesses find that their new employees lack basic interpersonal skills such as cooperative skill. What are the causes of this and suggest possible solutions to this problem?

Nowadays, we are living in a high-competitive world where each person must push themselves to be more and more perfect. However, it is commonly believed that there is a shortage of new workers’ interpersonal skills such as cooperative skills in some businesses. This essay is going to mention some reasons for this problem and suggest some potential solutions to address it.

The fact that a number of new employees who lack interpersonal skills is attributed to some factors. Firstly, the role of education should be mentioned here as the system focuses too much on training students based on theoretical and academic knowledge. Teachers rarely organize extracurricular activities such as presentation or discussion for students. As a result, a negative outcome may occur that students don’t have many opportunities to interact and exchange with their friends about what they have learnt. Another cause of this problem is the increasing development of computer technology. The internet network contributes a strong impact on how people communicate with each other. In particular, in present days, youngsters, especially new employees tend to communicate through virtual space like online chatroom or social media. It can lead to a consequence that new employees don’t have much experience with direct meetings in reality so that their abilities to express thoughts are not fluent.

To solve the matter, I’d like to present some possible measures. The first measure is that employers should change the method of recruiting new staff. The recruitment process should not only rely on working experience and academic record but also include achievement in extracurricular activities. As well as this, the candidates should be carefully tested their communication ability through activities such as face-to-face interview and group discussion because during these activities, they must try their best to show their great expressing skills, teamwork skills and coordinating skills to defeat other candidates.

To conclude, new employees’ weak point in lacking communication skills is because of education and technology, However, we can tackle the issue by some viable approaches.