Some children start school when they are seven years old, while others start at the age of four. What could be the advantages and disadvantages of starting early (age four)?

Since the times of civilization, schools have played the pivotal role in the holistic development of the children. Nowadays, parents are concerned with perfect age of a child to be enrolled. In some countries, children start their school at seven years of age in order to foster their relationship with parents. However, in other countries, parents think that their children can develop better by engaging in studies early as at the age of four. It is clear that starting school at an early age is associated with both advantages and disadvantages.

To begin with, there are several advantages of starting school at an early age. To enumerate, at schools children are taught so many useful things that help them interact better with the environment around. For example, it can be the suitable behavior when they meet anyone or find out the solutions to problems quickly and a child grasps these things better at an early age. Moreover a different advantage is that children can promote their potential abilities. In other words, children who are in the age of four to seven are in developmental stage of the brain, so joining school early is ideal for them to show their strong points.

On the other hand, in spite of some advantages above, there are also some unseen the disadvantages of starting school at an early age. Firstly, children are psychologically vulnerable. To explain, any kind of miss behavior with the peer or teacher can have the long life impact on the tender mind of a child. For example, some children taught by cruel teachers show psychological expressions as anxious and fear. Also, they are no longer as brisk as before. In addition, it becomes burden for children. Many parents consider that the more subjects their children learn, the more intelligent they would be. But, this makes children feel bored and neglectful in the studying. Therefore, their studying is not effective.

In conclusion, starting school at an early age can impact not only positively but also negatively on children. So parents should think carefully about suitable age of the child before enrolling him in school.