Some cities have vehicle free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city centre. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses taxies and metro on vehicle free days. Do the advantages outweigh its disadvantages.

Undoubtedly, traffic problems were solved in few of cities after banning private vehicles. Nowadays higher authorities are spreading awareness about using public transport. This essay have both pros and cons. I fermly opine that the merits of this travelling phenomenon clearly dominate over its demerits.

To commence with, there are some disadvantages. The predominant one is that public transport cannot help people in critical situation at any time. To be more precise, sometimes people have emergencies to reach quickly to their destinations, public transport is run only at fixed times, however if people have their own vehicles then they can use them anytime and reach on their destination at required time. Thus, banning of private vehicles and use only public transport is not helpful to people in emergency conditions.

Further, shifting towards the advantages, economy of the city would rise with the more usage of public transport. To explain, public transport is related to state government, then its profit means that it is beneficial for the government in terms of economy. For example, according to survey done in America in which government banned the use of private vehicles and encouraged people to start using public transport instead of private, which resulted in 25 per cent rise in economy of the country. Hence, public transport plays vital role in making making wealthy nation.

Furthermore, the usage of public transport rather than private transport reduce the pollution from the city. In other words, if people use only public vehicle for travelling, then more people can travel in one vehicle, whereas if they use private vehicle and travel individually causes more pollution than single public transport vehicle . Resultantly, banning of private transport means to save city from pollution problems.

To conclude, although public transport do not help people in emergencies, but I think its merits like, rise in economy and reduction in pollution of the city clearly outweigh its disadvantages.