Some claim that men are naturally more competitive than women.

To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Most people hold a stereotypical belief that men are more competitive than women. From my point of view, I disagree and would contend that competitiveness just manifests itself in both genders even though those people point out some ostensibly legitimate evolutionary evidence for their sentiment.

Difference in genetic predisposition may be the proof from this group of proponents. It is shown by evolutionary biologists that the competitive trait of males chiefly derives from a greater demand for access to food resources, shelters and potential mates, and it gradually translating into the specific biological adaption found in men with higher testosterone levels – the hormone responsible for masculine aggression. Such changed hostile behavior is the explanation why men often have possess more ambition and higher propensity for violence, and even more engagement in fierce battles for survival, power as well as dominance.

That being said, I believe women are less competitive than men by nature, they might only have different objectives and subtler approach when it comes to competition. Regarding the purposes, long long time ago, under the rule of patriarchy with ingrained prejudice, women often avoided conflicts that might potentially be harmful retaliation against themselves or their offspring and family. Nevertheless, time changes, so they change too; thanks to the women’ liberation movement and a fairer justice system, they have become more confident and begun to embrace the innate competitive drive. They compete more often, even quite harshly with the male counterparts in almost every domain to gain certain positions. Additionally, the people who say that women are gentler than men in competition might overlook this element: the subtle tactics. In other words, ladies use a wide range of stratagems which could be seen harmless on the façade yet effective and sometimes malevolent in essence. Those tricks could vary from verbal and online derogation to self-promotion and manipulation, which help them take advantage step by step and have a devastating effect on rivals. These are covert just because the women subtly hide them so well that only a few people can detect them.

In summary, although it is justified by the biological characteristic that men are competitive by nature, I believe competitiveness lies in women as well, but they approach competition with different and delicate methods hard to be recognized. Women might be getting more and more competitive in the future as they continue pursuing absolute gender equity.